The church was designed by Alonso Beltrán, Pedro Díaz de Palacio, Juan de Burgos and Pedro Silva. It has a basilica floor plan with three naves. One of its most characteristic features is the tower, rising from the left nave and completed in the 17th century. It is topped with a two-section bell tower and an octagonal spire covered with tiles.
Inside the church, there are outstanding 17th century paintings and sculptures, 17th and 18th century pieces of silverwork, and a Visigoth tombstone dated 520 A.D., belonging to the Christian martyr "Susanna Fámula", martyred during the reign of Leovigildo. The classic altarpiece that presides over the church is also of great historical and cultural value. Of the Herrera school, it dates from the 17th century and has some canvases belonging to the Ocampo school.
Another of its unique features is its tower clock, which is a monument to clock mechanics and the art of building mechanical clocks, a craft that is tending to disappear. It was constructed at the initiative of the Salteras Town Council, and following the authorisation of the Diocese of Seville, it was installed on 1 September 1865. Built in Bilbao in the factory of José Zugasti e Hijos, and similar to the one in the church of San Lorenzo in Seville, it has undergone several repairs and restorations, the last one in 2004 after which it was returned to the tower after several years in the Town Hall.
It is home to the patron saint of Salteras, San Sebastián, La Hermandad del Nazareno and La Hermandad del Rocío.