The Santa María del Águila Church shares a common feature with other Sevillian Mudejar-style parish churches from the 13th and 14th centuries.
It consists of three naves. The central nave has an elongated apse and external buttresses, with a extraordinary entrance crowned with a pointed arch. The apse of the south nave has a remarkable fresco of St James and St Matthew. The latter is the patron saint of the town. This Gothic work dates back to the 14th or 15th centuries. The standalone bell tower and the fleur-de-lis carved on the Church’s frontispiece are equally unique.
Between the 18th and 19th centuries, the building was extensively renovated. The Neoclassical-style of the southern entrance has been attributed to these reforms. After the 1936 coup and subsequent reaction of the people, the church was burned down and completely lost its roof. This led to further restoration work in the 1940s by the architect Félix Hernández, who also worked on the tower, giving it its current “Mudejar-like” aspect.
The Church houses the image of Santa María del Águila, patron saint of the town, who is taken in procession on 15 August every year.